Banner Pattern News Detail
September 30, 2021

Thirteen Ames High Students Named National Merit Semifinalists (2022)

Thirteen Ames High School students have been named semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) mailed Certificates of Merit to principals across the country, notifying them of the students who have advanced to Semifinalist standing in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

To become a Semifinalist according to the NMSC, students must submit a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. Semifinalist students must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. 

Congratulations to these Ames High School Semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program:

  • Diana Cordoba
  • Nethaka Dassanayake
  • Ezekiel DeBoest
  • Gerald Han
  • Jixian Li
  • Sivani Manimaran
  • Mario Napolitano
  • Derek Peng
  • Emily Poag
  • Suya Que
  • Isaac Song
  • Jacob Stevens
  • Rishabh Swamy