Banner Pattern News Detail
National Merit Semifinalists
September 13, 2019

Fifteen Ames High Students named Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program

National Merit Semifinalists

On September 11, 2019, officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These individuals have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth about $31 million that will be offered next spring. 

Ames High School had fifteen students achieve Semifinalists status this year. To become a Finalist according to the NMSC, the Semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. Congratulations to these students!

Ames High School Semifinalists in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program:

  • Jinal Amin
  • Silvia Aydinyan
  • Lara Baker
  • Jason Chen
  • Oliver Chen
  • Hannah Huang
  • David Kim
  • Yijin Kim
  • Victoria Kyveryga
  • Erik Nelson
  • Mitchell Oh
  • Connor Schroeder
  • Jasper Shogren-Knaak
  • Sarah Song
  • Simeon Steward